Summer Hours Through August 9, Lincoln is open Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and closed on Fridays. 

Missouri Mandatory Reporter Information

Lincoln University Police Departmentlu-police-banner-image.jpg


Missouri Mandatory Reporter Information (RSMo. 210)

At various times throughout the year faculty and staff members may be responsible for the supervision of various programs in which minors (individuals under the age of 18) participate on campus.  If a faculty or staff member suspects that a minor on campus is a victim of physical or sexual abuse they should notify the Lincoln University Police Department, a campus administrator (i.e. supervisor), and the Children's Division of the Department of Health and Human Services (the Department).


By law, a mandatory reporter must notify the Department directly and not just supervisors.  All faculty and staff responsible for the supervision of a child for any part of a 24 hour day are considered mandatory reporters under RSMo. 210.110 & 210.115. Responsible employees cannot leave the onus of reporting in the hands of the chain of command of an organization.  Lincoln University shall not impede or inhibit any employee from reporting. No person making a report shall be subject to any sanction, including any adverse employment action, for making such report.   If it is discovered that a mandatory reporter has not notified the department of possible abuse, the individual could be subject to be found guilty of a class A misdemeanor (up to 1 year in jail or $1000 fine) per RSMo. 210.165.


How to Make an Official Report

If an individual is not sure it's abuse or neglect, they can call the local Children's Division office to discuss their concerns. They can advise the individual whether or not to call the hotline. They can also give advice that might help you help the family in crisis.


An individual may call the hotline at 1 (800) 392-3738The Children's Division staff this hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. They will take information from you and respond to child abuse and neglect. If you live outside Missouri and want to report abuse or neglect of a Missouri child, call (573) 751-3448.


Be sure you have:                              You will also be asked:

the name of the child                            Is the child in a life-threatening situation now?

the name of the parent(s)                      How do you know about the abuse/neglect?

the name of the alleged abuser             Did you witness the abuse/neglect?

where the child can be located             Were there other witnesses and how can they be contacted?