ISFOP Events

ISFOP Newsletters NEW Updates!
ISFOP Publications NEW Updates!

Of Interest

Kansas City Food Hub Feasibility Study (pdf)

Click image for pdf

2014 Farm Bill - Five Steps to Meet Conservation Compliance"A Farm Advocate"

Urban Focus

In addition to working with the small farmers and ranchers, we also focus on urban food production in the two largest cities in our work area. One our goals is to help limited resource minority residents, especially the elderly, get access to fresh, nutritious produce. We have formed partnerships with various groups and community garden organizations that promote Urban Agriculture. If you are interested in growing a garden in your backyard or in your neighborhood, please contact us.

As interests arise in various aspects of farming, we will be offering relevant workshops or trainings.

Here are some of the workshops we have offered in the past:

  • Community gardening
  • Composting
  • Goat farming
  • Vegetable grafting
  • Native Plants for Pollination and in Landscaping
  • Grow Your Farm
  • Pastured poultry
  • High Tunnels

Eligibility

You are eligible to participate in the ISFOP if:

  • Your family lives on a farm.
  • Your family provides the management and most of the labor on your farm.
  • Your total family income is less than $50,000.
  • You have innovative ideas, and you want to improve your farm income.
  • You are a new farmer or an urban gardener in need of assistance.

Counties We Work In

 

ISFOP Team

Dr. K. B. Paul, ISFOP Program LeaderDr. K. B. Paul
Program Leader
(573) 681-5584

PaulK@LincolnU.edu

 

 

 Regina Thompson, Secretary, ISFOPRegina Thompson
Secretary
(573) 681-5312
Fax: (573) 681-5313

ThompsonR@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Katie Nixon, ISFOP Small Farm SpecialistKatie Nixon
Small Farm Specialist
Jackson County
(816) 809-5074

NixonK@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Phillip Boydston, ISFOP Farm Outreach Worker Johnson and Cass Counties (and best friend)Phillip Boydston
Farm Outreach Worker
Johnson and Cass County
(816) 726-7720

BoydstonP@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Susan Jaster, ISFOP Farm Outreach WorkerSusan Jaster
Farm Outreach Worker
Lafayette and Ray County
(816) 589-4725

JasterS@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Reneesha R. Auboug, ISFOP Farm Outreach WorkerReneesha R. Auboug
Farm Outreach Worker
St. Charles and Lincoln County
(314) 838-4088

AubougR@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Jim Pierce, ISFOP Farm Outreach WorkerJim Pierce
Farm Outreach Worker
Platte and Clay County
(660) 232-1096
PierceJ@LincolnU.edu

 

 

Miranda Duschack, ISFOP Small Farm SpecialistMiranda Duschack
Small Farm Specialist
St. Louis County and City
(314) 604-3403

DuschackM@LincolnU.edu

 

Janet Hurst, ISFOP Farm Outreach WorkerJanet Hurst
Farm Outreach Worker
Franklin and Warren County
(660) 216-1749

HurstJ@LincolnU.edu

 

Joyce Rainwater, ISFOP Farm Outreach WorkerJoyce Rainwater
Farm Outreach Worker
Jefferson and Washington County
(314) 800-4076

RainwaterJ@LincolnU.edu

 

Nahshon Bishop
Small Farm Specialist
Barry and McDonald County
BishopN@LincolnU.edu
(417) 846-3948

 

 Stephen "Randy" Garrett ISFOP Farm Outreach Worker Newton and Jasper County Stephen "Randy" Garrett
Farm Outreach Worker
Newton and Jasper County
GarrettS@LincolnU.edu
(417) 850-9391

 

 David Middleton, ISFOP Farm Outreach Worker Lawrence and Greene CountiesDavid Middleton
Farm Outreach Worker
Lawrence and Greene County
MiddletonD@LincolnU.edu
(417) 466-8056

 

 

 

 

 

 

Useful External Links

eXtension -- Goat
University of Missouri Extension
Missouri Alternative Center
Missouri Agricultural Electronic Bulletin Board
National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
National Organic Program

 

 

Return to Cooperative Extension