Summer Hours Through August 9, Lincoln is open Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and closed on Fridays. 

Lincoln University Students Inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha, National Political Science Honor Society

Abbey Tauchen | April 19th, 2024

Three Lincoln University of Missouri students — Max McCarthy from Jefferson City, Missouri, Nia Walker from Lee's Summit, Missouri, and Alannah Wade from Belleville, Illinois — were inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, on April 11 at 11 a.m. in MLK 106. 

“The newest inductees earned membership in this illustrious society by attaining the highest standards of scholarship not only in the discipline of political science but in their overall academic work as well, in accordance with the rigorous criteria set forth in the national constitution of Pi Sigma Alpha, the by-laws of the Alpha Zeta Omicron chapter and the strict requirements of the Association of College Honor Societies,” says Dr. Elizabeth Dorssom, Lincoln University assistant professor of political science and Pi Sigma Alpha advisor.

Pi Sigma Alpha was founded in October 1920 at the University of Texas. Initially established to encourage and recognize academic excellence in the field of political science, Pi Sigma Alpha has since grown to encompass over 850 chapters across the United States. The society aims to promote a deeper understanding of political science among students and scholars alike, fostering intellectual discourse and civic engagement.

That first class included thirteen students, among them a future Supreme Court Justice and U.S. Attorney General, a future U.S. Ambassador, several future attorneys and other individuals who would go on to make an impact at local, national and international levels.
Pi Sigma Alpha

Lincoln University students Max McCarthy, Nia Walker and Alannah Wade at the Pi Sigma Alpha induction ceremony on April 11.  

Today, Pi Sigma Alpha hosts chapters on nearly 850 campuses and has inducted more than 300,000 members. Its rolls feature national, state, and local political leaders including one president, three Supreme Court justices and dozens of members of Congress. The network of Pi Sigma Alpha members stretches across law, academia, business and more.

Undergraduate students who wish to join Pi Sigma Alpha must meet these requirements:

  • Complete at least half of the credits needed for their degree.
  • Finish at least 10 semester credits (or 15 quarter credits if on the quarter system) in political science, including one upper-division course, with a grade of B or higher.
  • Maintain an overall GPA in the top one-third of their class, regardless of their major. 

Graduate students must have completed nine graduate credits in political science with no grade lower than a B. Undergraduate coursework does not count toward graduate student eligibility.

Pi Sigma Alpha
Brian Crane, city administrator for Jefferson City, and Kelly Schlosser, Lincoln University HR generalist. 

In addition to inducting three new members to Pi Sigma Alpha, the Alpha Zeta Omicron chapter also awarded Outstanding Political Science Alumni awards to Brian Crane, city administrator for Jefferson City, and Kelly Schlosser, HR generalist at Lincoln University.